Product Review – Fit Flops

I think information (or knowledge) is power. I also think that it is important to share your triumphs and trails with products. There are SOOOO many products on the market, and during recessionary times you need to be certain, now more than ever, that you are purchasing a quality product. Why waste three easy payments of $19.99 on something that doesn’t work? So I am doing my part to help consumers by sharing…

Flip Flops have taken over as the go to shoe for many women in the spring and summer months (and I’ve seen some bold souls venture out with them in the winter). Long gone are the days when flip flops were only worn leaving the nail salon or after a work out. Today, every woman I know owns a pair of flip flops that I have seen on their feet.

I personally don’t do well with flip flops I can’t walk around in them for long periods of time without feeling pain in  my arches, between my toes and my hip. I do better in heels, but some occassions call for a more casual shoe sandal. I was initially attracted to fit flops after looking into buying the MBT trainers (Masai Barefoot Technology), but the price of the mbt’s was a little steep for something I knew I wouldn’t wear often. The fit flops are about $40. According to the website, the Fit Flops are biomechanically engineered to help tone and tighten your leg muscles while you walk in them. I don’t work out so anything that helps in my struggle to become healthy without going out of my way I will try (within reason).

I purchased the Fit Flop Walkstar I’s in white and silver. I decided to break them in at a park festival. I knew I would be on my feet walking ALL day so what better place to check them out. When I first put them on I was not impressed. These are NOT cute shoes. They are bulky and the soles are very thick, I internally kicked myself for buying them in white. Initially I was aware of their massive size and I as flip flopped out of the door I thought it’s going to be a long day. I walked around for about 7 hours and I was on my feet the whole time. I actually forgot I had the fit flops on. I know that sounds extreme, but they just seem to blend in and mold to your feet. After walking all day I had NO blisters in between my toes, my hip was fine, my arches were pain free and honestly I felt like I could continue walking another3 hours. I didn’t experience the normal foot fatigue I get after walking for hours.

They aren’t the prettiest sandals, but function trumps beauty in this battle. They are perect for mall shopping and any outtings where you will be on your feet for long periods of time. I wouldn’t recommend them for hiking or running, maybe a light jog. For those who traditionally have issues with flip flops and thong sandals affecting their arches, the tops of the feet (where the straps cross over) and blisters between toes this is an excellent shoe to try. If they actually help tone your legs and get rid of cellulite that’s a plus too. These are my favorite sandals hands down because they  provide cushiony comfort when walking for hours on end or to the mailbox. Go Get a Pair.

Leave a comment